MRCGP AKT revision resources compared

By The Medexia Team. Last checked: 14 October 2026. Medexia makes AKT Navigator, one of the resources listed below. We have a stake in this market. Prices and features below are each provider's own, taken from their website on the date shown. Providers can change their prices without notice, so check the provider's own page before you buy. No disparagement intended; weaknesses noted below are drawn from the provider's own published page, not from outside testing. Any claim we could not confirm directly on a provider's own page today has been left out rather than guessed.

Short answer. No single AKT resource is "best". RCGP's own GP SelfTest is the only one in this comparison that states RCGP endorsement, and is free for members; commercial banks range from £29 to £247+ depending on duration and format, with question counts from roughly 2,000 to 6,400; and AKT Navigator, Pastest and Arora Medical Education are the three in this set with genuine audio content. Compare on your actual needs below, not price or question count alone.

Which AKT resource is cheapest?

Short answer. For a free option, RCGP GP SelfTest is free for RCGP/GP registrar members, and AKT Navigator's questions, mocks and explanations are permanently free for everyone. Among paid commercial banks, Passmed.uk (£29 for 1 month) and iatroX's all-access subscription (£29/month) share the lowest headline figure in this comparison, though they aren't like-for-like: one is a one-off access period, the other a recurring monthly charge covering multiple exams, not just the AKT.

Full pricing, from lowest to highest headline figure as checked today:

  • Free: AKT Navigator (questions/mocks/explanations), RCGP GP SelfTest (members only), iatroX (limited free sample questions)
  • Passmed.uk: £29 (1 month) to £89 (12 months)
  • Passmedicine: £35 (4 months) or £45 (6 months)
  • iatroX all-access subscription: £29/month or £99/year (covers AKT alongside many other exam banks, not AKT-specific)
  • AKT Navigator Full Audio Pass: £79 (4 months), first 2 hours free
  • GP SelfTest (non-members): £70 (6 months) or £120 (12 months)
  • Pastest: £67.99 (3 months) to £117.99 (12 months)
  • BMJ OnExamination: £44.99 (1 month) to £159.99 (12 months)
  • AKT Prep: £14.95/month (1 month) down to £8.33/month billed £49.99 (6 months)
  • Arora Medical Education: £137–£247+ per bundle/package (reduced from higher list prices shown on the page today)

These aren't like-for-like: durations, mock inclusion and audio provision all differ. Check the exact tier on the provider's own page before buying.

Which AKT question bank has the most questions?

Short answer. Passmed.uk claims the largest AKT-specific bank in this comparison, at over 6,400 questions, as shown on its own page today.

Claimed counts as checked today: Passmed.uk (6,400+), Passmedicine (4,900+), Arora Medical Education (3,400+, across clinical, statistics and admin domains), Pastest (3,000+), RCGP GP SelfTest (~2,900, across the whole curriculum, not AKT-specific), BMJ OnExamination (2,455), AKT Prep (2,000+). AKT Navigator describes its free bank as "thousands" of syllabus-mapped questions without a published exact figure. iatroX does not publish an AKT-specific question count on the pages we checked, so it is left out of this ranking. These are each provider's own claim, not independently audited, and question count alone doesn't indicate quality.

Which AKT resources include audio or podcast content?

Short answer. Three resources in this comparison offer genuine audio content: AKT Navigator (a dedicated 90+ hour audio library), Pastest (podcasts bundled with its question bank) and Arora Medical Education (audio bundled into its top "AKT Ultimate" package, and also sold as a standalone bundle). The rest do not advertise audio.

AKT Navigator's audio is a distinct paid tier (Full Audio Pass, £79/4 months, first 2 hours free) built around 90+ hours of AKT teaching. Pastest includes podcasts as part of its standard package alongside its question bank, searchable textbook and app. This is a real feature that's sometimes wrongly described elsewhere as "no audio." Arora's own page lists "AKT Audio Courses" (clinical, stats and admin audio) as part of its £247 Ultimate package, as well as a separate £137 standalone Audio Bundle. Passmedicine, BMJ OnExamination, AKT Prep, Passmed.uk, iatroX and RCGP GP SelfTest do not advertise audio or podcast content on the pages checked today.

Is there a free AKT question bank?

Short answer. Yes. AKT Navigator offers free, syllabus-mapped questions, mocks and explanations with no time limit, and RCGP GP SelfTest is free for RCGP/GP registrar members. iatroX offers a limited free tier (up to 10 sample questions per day across all its exam banks, not an AKT-specific full bank).

If you don't have RCGP/registrar membership, GP SelfTest costs £70 (6 months) or £120 (12 months). iatroX's full question bank, mock exams and AI features sit behind its £29/month or £99/year all-access subscription, which covers many exams, not AKT specifically.

Which AKT resource is RCGP-endorsed?

Short answer. GP SelfTest, run by RCGP itself and linked from RCGP's own AKT-preparing page, is the only resource in this comparison that RCGP itself runs and links to. None of the other pages we checked, including AKT Navigator's own, state RCGP affiliation or endorsement.

Comparison table

ProviderPrice (checked 14 Oct 2026)Question count (provider's claim)MocksAudio/podcast contentSource
RCGP GP SelfTestFree for RCGP/registrar members; £70/6 months or £120/12 months for non-members~2,900Peer-scored testsNone advertisedGP SelfTest FAQ
Passmedicine£35 / 4 months, £45 / 6 months4,900+ (own-site claim)Full mock exams includedNone advertisedpassmedicine.com/akt
Pastest£67.99 / 3 months, £97.99 / 6 months, £117.99 / 12 months, free 48-hour trial3,000+Not explicitly named as mock exams on the page checked; past papers referencedPodcasts included alongside question practicepastest.com/products/mrcgp-akt
BMJ OnExamination£44.99 / 1 month up to £159.99 / 12 months (monthly increments available)2,455Yes (mock tests)None advertisedonexamination.com/products/mrcgp-akt
Arora Medical Education£247 "AKT Ultimate" package (reduced from £447); £137 audio bundle (reduced from £237); £147 video bundle (reduced from £247); £227 Live Trilogy (reduced from £427)3,400+ questions and mocks (Ultimate package)5 full AKT mock exams (Ultimate package)Bundled into the £247 Ultimate package ("AKT Audio Courses"); also sold standalone as the £137 Audio Bundlearoramedicaleducation.co.uk/course/mrcgp-akt
AKT Prep£14.95/month (1 month); £11.99/month billed £35.97 (3 months); £8.33/month billed £49.99 (6 months)2,000+2 full timed mocksNone advertisedaktprep.uk/pricing
Passmed.uk£29 (1 month), £49 (3 months), £69 (6 months), £89 (12 months)6,400+ (AKT-specific, own-site claim)Not stated on the page checkedNone advertisedpassmed.uk/exam/mrcgp-akt
iatroXFree: up to 10 sample questions/day across all exams. All-access subscription: £29/month or £99/year (covers AKT plus many other exam banks)Not published specifically for AKT on the pages checkedMock exams included in the paid all-access subscription (not AKT-specific detail shown)None advertisediatrox.com, pricing
AKT Navigator (Medexia)Free questions, mocks, explanations; optional Full Audio Pass £79 / 4 months; first 2 hours of audio free"Thousands", free, syllabus-mapped (no exact published figure)Included free90+ hours, paid tiermedexia-akt.com

Entry prices above are not like-for-like: durations, mock inclusion and audio provision differ, and several providers (Pastest, BMJ OnExamination) offer monthly increments we have condensed to shortest/longest shown. Always check the exact tier on the provider's own page before buying.

Strengths and weaknesses, as shown on each provider's own page

  • RCGP GP SelfTest. Strength: written by RCGP itself, the closest thing to an "official" bank; updated monthly; non-member pricing (£70/6 months, £120/12 months) confirmed directly on RCGP's own site. Weakness: no mocks beyond peer-scored tests; no audio.
  • Passmedicine. Strength: large bank (4,900+ questions) with full mock exams included, at a low headline price. Weakness: no audio; the provider's own page did not show a named clinical author or review date at the time of our check.
  • Pastest. Strength: genuinely includes podcast content alongside questions, plus a searchable textbook and interactive imagery. This is a real audio-adjacent feature that is sometimes wrongly described elsewhere as "no audio." Weakness: higher price than Passmedicine for a comparable duration; the page we checked today references "past papers" rather than explicitly naming a mock exam feature.
  • BMJ OnExamination. Strength: granular monthly pricing lets candidates buy only the time they need; mock tests explicitly offered. Weakness: one of the smaller question counts of the banks compared (2,455, only above AKT Prep's 2,000+); no audio.
  • Arora Medical Education. Strength: named, experienced teacher (Dr Aman Arora), a stated question count (3,400+), 5 full mock exams and bundled audio content in the Ultimate package. Weakness: course-based pricing is the highest in this table even after the discounts shown on the page today; those discounted prices can change, so check the current price before you buy.
  • AKT Prep. Strength: lowest headline monthly cost and includes an AI tutor feature. Weakness: smallest question count in this table (2,000+); no audio; "AI tutor" claims were not independently tested by us.
  • Passmed.uk. Strength: largest AKT-specific question count claimed (6,400+) and tied for the lowest headline price (£29). Weakness: mock-exam inclusion is not stated on the page we checked; no audio.
  • iatroX. Strength: a genuine free sample-question entry point (10/day across all its exam banks, no account needed) and a single transparent all-access price (£29/month or £99/year) covering AKT alongside other exams. Weakness: the free tier is a daily sample cap, not a full free AKT bank; the page checked does not publish an AKT-specific question count or confirm AKT-specific mock exam details.
  • AKT Navigator (Medexia). Strength: free questions, mocks and explanations with no time limit, plus audio revision for time-poor trainees. Weakness: does not publish an exact free-tier question count or offer a large screen-based-only bank at the scale of Passmed.uk or Passmedicine, and audio is a paid feature beyond the first 2 free hours.

How to choose

  1. If cost is the only constraint, start with GP SelfTest (if you have RCGP/registrar membership) or a free tier like AKT Navigator's free questions or iatroX's limited daily sample.
  2. If you want the largest raw question count, Passmed.uk and Passmedicine both claim large banks at relatively low prices. Verify current counts before buying.
  3. If you want structured teaching with a named clinician, Arora Medical Education is the clearest course-style option in this table, at the highest price.
  4. If you revise away from a screen (commuting, exercise, childcare), AKT Navigator's audio, Pastest's podcast content or Arora's bundled/standalone audio are the audio-capable options here.
  5. Never choose on question-count alone: explanation quality, currency with UK guidelines, and whether a provider shows a named author/review date all affect whether a bank is actually useful, not just large.

The Medexia Team